Investment Department


Angela Miller-May

Chief Investment Officer 
Angela Miller-May

The Investment Department is responsible for managing and directing the operations of CTPF’s investments in accordance with the Illinois Pension Code, the Investment Policy Statement, the Board Rules, Orders, and Resolutions, and all applicable laws. With the support of the Consultants, the Investment Department provides ongoing performance evaluation and due diligence of all investment managers. The Chief Investment Officer, Investment Staff, and the Consultant act as fiduciaries to CTPF. Key areas of responsibility include:

  • Review asset allocations, investment strategies, strategic planning, performance and recommending new investment opportunities based on CTPF’s risk/return profile
  • Setting policies, investment strategies, asset allocations, monitoring results, overseeing the plan and representing the plan on behalf of the beneficiaries
  • Implementing policies, manager structure, manager selection, and manager due diligence
  • Determining the optimal allocation of a portfolio among broad asset classes
  • Completing annual regulatory reports such as the Illinois Economic Report, the Illinois Senate Hearing Questionnaire, and the Governor’s Report

View all staff

Investment Staff

James Binsfeld
Investment Portfolio Analyst

​​Andrew Kelsen
Investment Portfolio Manager

Robert Dickman-Lopez
Investment Portfolio Analyst​​

Barbara Meyer
Investment Portfolio Manager

Kelly Emmons
Investment Portfolio Analyst​

Xia Qiu
Investment Portfolio Analyst

John Freihammer
Investment Portfolio Manager

Cheryl Rooks
Investment Portfolio Analyst

Juventina Garcia
Investment Portfolio Analyst